Provinces and Regions of Costa Rica

Costa Rica is divided into seven political "provinces." All but one (Guanacaste, whose capital is Liberia) have a capital city of the same name. Four of the capital cities are located in the Meseta Central, the central plateau that is home to most of the country's 3.5 million people. Five of the provinces spread out from the Meseta like spokes on a wheel. The provinces are:

  • San Jose
  • Heredia
  • Alajuela
  • Guanacaste
  • Puntarenas
  • Limon
  • Cartago


Costa Rica is also officially fivided in six geographical regions. They all hold a special magic all their own, and are recognized for very specific qualities and characteristics.

The regions are as follow:

  • The Central Valley
  • The Caribbean
  • The Central Pacific
  • The North Pacific
  • The South Pacific
  • The Northern Plains

No comments: